PDA

View Full Version : renaming files over the network



goude
05-05-2010, 10:37 AM
Hello

I am using the basic version of file renamer. By the way many thanks to the person/s that created it.

I noticed that it is not possible to rename files over the network. When I click apply to rename some files that are located on a linux server I get the message that the operation was successful but in fact the files remain unchanged. I have no problems renaming files locally on my PC but it doesn't work over the network.

The deluxe version doesn't offer that as well.
Is this something that it will be included in future versions?

Thank you

sc_support
05-13-2010, 04:24 PM
This is something we'll look into for the future. We use the built-in Microsoft rename command to actually complete the rename, so I'm not sure why it would return a success result code when it didn't actually rename it.

We will look into it though.

Thanks,

the support team

00pontiac
04-15-2011, 10:30 PM
any luck with this?

00pontiac
04-15-2011, 10:37 PM
I found an easy workaround, in case it helps anyone.

I mapped a network drive and was able to rename files from there.

Thank you for this program. I use it often enough I'm starting to feel guilty for using the free version :)